Last week, the House passed the “Screening and Vetting Passenger Act” (H.R. 4581); the “DHS Overseas Personnel Enhancement Act of 2017” (H.R. 4567); the “Rapid DNA Act of 2017” (S. 139); and the “Counter Terrorist Network Act” (H.R. 4578). The Senate passed “RAISE Family Caregivers Act” (H.R. 3759); and voted to confirm two U.S. District Court judges.

This week, the House and Senate will attempt to pass a continuing resolution to fund the federal government beyond the expiration of the last continuing resolution on Friday, January 19.

This week, the House is also expected to debate the “Home Mortgage Disclosure Adjustment Act” (H.R. 2954) and the “World Bank Accountability Act of 2017” (H.R. 3326).

Member Reminder

AAMS fully supports the “Ensuring Access to Air Ambulance Services Act” (H.R. 3378 and S. 2121) to address the shortfall in Medicare reimbursements for air medical services. AAMS encourages members to contact their Senators and Members of Congress to ask them to cosponsor the legislation.

The bills would reform the Medicare fee schedule for air ambulance services, starting with a cost reporting and analysis program conducted by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), followed by: rebasing of air medical reimbursements in 2021; and implementation of a Value-Based Purchasing (VBP) Program beginning in 2024. The bill would enhance transparency by establishing cost and quality reporting requirements, as well as solve for a growing gap between Medicare payments and costs.

Representatives Jackie Walorski (R-IN), Suzan DelBene (D-WA), Bill Johnson (R-OH), Raul Ruiz (D-CA), and Pete Sessions (R-TX) introduced H.R. 3378. The following Members of Congress have cosponsored the bill since its introduction:

  • Tom Cole (R-OK);
  • Jason Smith (R-MO);
  • Blaine Luetkemeyer (R-MO);
  • David Loebsack (D-IA);
  • Mike Kelly (R-PA);
  • Kenny Marchant (R-TX);
  • Terri Sewell (D-AL);
  • Ed Perlmutter (D-CO);
  • Julia Brownley (D-CA);
  • Jacky Rosen (D-NV);
  • Ami Bera (D-CA);
  • Scott Tipton (R-CO); and
  • Mike Coffman (R-CO).

Senators Dean Heller (R-NV), Michael Bennet (D-CO), and Cory Gardner (R-CO), introduced the Senate version of the bill.

More Information on the legislation, as well as on how to contact your Member of Congress and Senators: