Last week, the House and Senate were in recess.

This week the House is slated to vote on: the “Citizens’ Right to Know Act of 2017” (H.R. 2152); the “Standard Merger and Acquisition Reviews Through Equal Rules Act of 2018” (H.R. 5645); a joint resolution to rescind the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau’s (CFPB) rule on “Indirect Auto Lending and Compliance with the Equal Credit Opportunity Act” (S.J.Res. 57); and the “Nuclear Waste Policy Amendments Act of 2018” (H.R. 3053).

The Senate reconvened from its recess on Monday and voted on the cloture motion for the nomination of Kurt Englehardt to be a U.S. Court of Appeals Judge for the Fifth Circuit. The Senate is expected to spend the balance of the week on other nominations, including additional nominees to U.S. Courts of Appeals.

UAS Hearing

On May 8, the Senate Commerce Committee’s Aviation Operations, Safety, and Security Subcommittee held a hearing titled “Keeping Pace with Innovation – Update on the Safe Integration of Unmanned Aircraft Systems into the Airspace”. Scheduled witnesses were: Earl Lawrence, Director, Office of Unmanned Aircraft Systems, Federal Aviation Administration; Brian Wynne, President and Chief Executive Officer, Association for Unmanned Vehicle Systems International;  Matthew Zuccaro, President and Chief Executive Officer, Helicopter Association International; and Todd Graetz, Director of Technology Services, BNSF Railway Co.

Member Reminder

AAMS fully supports the “Ensuring Access to Air Ambulance Services Act” (H.R. 3378 and S. 2121) to address the shortfall in Medicare reimbursements for air medical services. AAMS encourages members to contact their Senators and Members of Congress to ask them to cosponsor the legislation.

The bills would reform the Medicare fee schedule for air ambulance services, starting with a cost reporting and analysis program conducted by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), followed by: rebasing of air medical reimbursements in 2021; and implementation of a Value-Based Purchasing (VBP) Program beginning in 2024. The bill would enhance transparency by establishing cost and quality reporting requirements, as well as solve for a growing gap between Medicare payments and costs.

Representatives Jackie Walorski (R-IN), Suzan DelBene (D-WA), Bill Johnson (R-OH), Raul Ruiz (D-CA), and Pete Sessions (R-TX) introduced H.R. 3378. The following Members of Congress have cosponsored the bill since its introduction:

  • Tom Cole (R-OK);
  • Jason Smith (R-MO);
  • Blaine Luetkemeyer (R-MO);
  • David Loebsack (D-IA);
  • Mike Kelly (R-PA);
  • Kenny Marchant (R-TX);
  • Terri Sewell (D-AL);
  • Ed Perlmutter (D-CO);
  • Julia Brownley (D-CA);
  • Jacky Rosen (D-NV);
  • Ami Bera (D-CA);
  • Scott Tipton (R-CO);
  • Mike Coffman (R-CO);
  • Luke Messer (R-IN);
  • Filemon Vela (D-TX);
  • Tom O’Halleran (D-AZ);
  • Anna Eshoo (D-CA);
  • Martha McSally (R-AZ);
  • Jared Polis (D-CO);
  • Roger Williams (R-TX);
  • Doug LaMalfa (R-CA);
  • David Young (R-IA);
  • Tom Marino (R-PA);
  • Rodney Davis (R-IL);
  • Tom Reed (R-NY);
  • Elise Stefanik (R-NY);
  • Mark Takano (D-CA);
  • Vincente Gonzalez (D-TX);
  • Dina Titus (D-NV);
  • Diane Black (R-TN); and
  • Jim Banks (R-IN).

Senators Dean Heller (R-NV), Michael Bennet (D-CO), and Cory Gardner (R-CO), introduced the Senate version of the bill. Senators Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV), Tim Scott (R-SC), Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), and Todd Young (R-IN) are also cosponsors.

Additional information on the legislation, as well as on how to contact your Member of Congress and Senators:

The U.S. Senate’s contact information for all 100 Senators.