Greetings AAMS Members,

As Chair of the AAMS Nominations Committee, I’m pleased to announce the initial election for the 2020 – 2022 term on the AAMS board has come to a close.  Due to a tie for one of the Director At-Large positions, information will be forthcoming on a run-off election.

In the interim, I would like to welcome and congratulate the following new and re-elected AAMS Board Members!
Region 3 was up for election as well as two Director At-Large Seats.  I would like to thank those current board members who are completing their terms.  It has been an honor to work with you and I know you’ll remain involved in our industry’s issues.

Kolby Kolbet, MSN, RN, CFRN, CMTE is elected as AAMS Region 3 Director.
Mr. Kolbet serves as the Vice President of Clinical Services for Life Link III. Since 2015, Kolbet has been a Regent for the AAMS Medical Transport Leadership Institute (MTLI) and has been a presenter at the Air Medical Transport Conference. His twenty years of experience in the medical transport industry will be a great asset to the AAMS Board.
René Borghese, MSN, RN, CMTE has been reelected to one of the AAMS Director At-Large Positions. Borghese, a returning board member, is the Administrative Director for Duke University Hospital Life Flight in Durham, North Carolina.  She is the current Vice President on the AAMS Board of Directors, instructor for MTLI, and a crossover board member on the MedEvac Foundation International Board of Trustees. Borghese’s active involvement in advocating issues concerning the air medical industry will be a great continued addition to the AAMS Board

My sincerest appreciation is extended to all candidates that stepped forward to run and for their continued interest and investment in AAMS and the critical care transport industry. Any additional questions regarding election process, please contact me directly at
Thank you for voting! Look for an announcement on the run-off election and get ready to vote again!

Doug Garretson
AAMS Past Chair
Chair of the AAMS Nominations Committee