Last week, the House passed: the “Comprehensive Regulatory Review Act” (H.R. 4607); the “Blocking Regulatory Interference from Closing Kilns Act” (H.R. 1917); and the “Satisfying Energy Needs and Saving the Environment (SENSE) Act” (H.R. 1119).  On March 7, the Senate passed the “Nuclear Energy Innovation Capabilities Act of 2017” (S. 97).

This week, the House plans to consider the “TAILOR Act of 2017” (H.R. 1116); the “Financial Examination Fairness and Reform Act” (H.R. 4545); the “Stress Test Improvement Act of 2017” (H.R. 4293); and the “Financial Stability Oversight Council Improvement Act of 2017” (H.R. 4061). The Senate is continuing to debate the “Economic Growth, Regulatory Relief, and Consumer Protection Act” (S. 2155), which would reform provisions of the Dodd-Frank Act.

Member Reminder

AAMS fully supports the “Ensuring Access to Air Ambulance Services Act” (H.R. 3378 and S. 2121) to address the shortfall in Medicare reimbursements for air medical services. AAMS encourages members to contact their Senators and Members of Congress to ask them to cosponsor the legislation.

The bills would reform the Medicare fee schedule for air ambulance services, starting with a cost reporting and analysis program conducted by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), followed by: rebasing of air medical reimbursements in 2021; and implementation of a Value-Based Purchasing (VBP) Program beginning in 2024. The bill would enhance transparency by establishing cost and quality reporting requirements, as well as solve for a growing gap between Medicare payments and costs.

Representatives Jackie Walorski (R-IN), Suzan DelBene (D-WA), Bill Johnson (R-OH), Raul Ruiz (D-CA), and Pete Sessions (R-TX) introduced H.R. 3378. The following Members of Congress have cosponsored the bill since its introduction:

  • Tom Cole (R-OK);
  • Jason Smith (R-MO);
  • Blaine Luetkemeyer (R-MO);
  • David Loebsack (D-IA);
  • Mike Kelly (R-PA);
  • Kenny Marchant (R-TX);
  • Terri Sewell (D-AL);
  • Ed Perlmutter (D-CO);
  • Julia Brownley (D-CA);
  • Jacky Rosen (D-NV);
  • Ami Bera (D-CA);
  • Scott Tipton (R-CO);
  • Mike Coffman (R-CO);
  • Luke Messer (R-IN);
  • Filemon Vela (D-TX);
  • Tom O’Halleran (D-AZ); and
  • Anna Eshoo (D-CA).

Senators Dean Heller (R-NV), Michael Bennet (D-CO), and Cory Gardner (R-CO), introduced the Senate version of the bill. Senators Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV), Tim Scott (R-SC), Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), and Todd Young (R-IN) have also cosponsored the bill.

Additional information on the legislation, as well as on how to contact your Member of Congress and Senators: