Before recessing for the holidays, the House and Senate passed the “Tax Cuts and Jobs Act” (H.R. 1, H.Rept. 115-466). The President signed the tax reform bill into law on December 22, 2017. The President also signed a continuing resolution that funds the government through January 19, 2018 (H.R. 1370).

The Senate returns from recess this week, and is expected to continue votes on nominations. The House will reconvene next week. The two chambers will resume efforts to draft and pass an appropriations package to last through the end of the fiscal year on September 30, as the current continuing resolution expires in less than three weeks.

President Trump is expected to release the Administration’s infrastructure proposal this month. The package will reportedly support $1 trillion in spending on roads, bridges, rail, airports and other facilities with about $200 billion in new federal funding intended to leverage an additional $800 billion in state, local, and private spending.

The President is also scheduled to deliver the State of the Union address to a joint session of the House and Senate on Tuesday, January 30.

Member Reminder

AAMS fully supports the “Ensuring Access to Air Ambulance Services Act” (H.R. 3378 and S. 2121) to address the gap between Medicare reimbursements and the costs of providing air medical service. AAMS encourages members to contact their Senators and Members of Congress to ask them to cosponsor the legislation.

The bills would reform the Medicare fee schedule for air ambulance services, starting with a cost reporting and analysis program conducted by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), followed by: rebasing of air medical reimbursements in 2021; and implementation of a Value-Based Purchasing (VBP) Program beginning in 2024. The bill would enhance transparency by establishing cost and quality reporting requirements, as well as solve for a growing gap between Medicare payments and costs.

Representatives Jackie Walorski (R-IN), Suzan DelBene (D-WA), Bill Johnson (R-OH), Raul Ruiz (D-CA), and Pete Sessions (R-TX) introduced H.R. 3378, with the following Members of Congress also joining as cosponsors:

  • Tom Cole (R-OK);
  • Jason Smith (R-MO);
  • Blaine Luetkemeyer (R-MO);
  • David Loebsack (D-IA);
  • Mike Kelly (R-PA);
  • Kenny Marchant (R-TX);
  • Terri Sewell (D-AL);
  • Ed Perlmutter (D-CO);
  • Julia Brownley (D-CA);
  • Jacky Rosen (D-NV);
  • Ami Bera (D-CA); and
  • Scott Tipton (R-CO)

Senators Dean Heller (R-NV), Michael Bennet (D-CO), and Cory Gardner (R-CO), introduced the Senate version of the bill.

More Information on the legislation, as well as contacting your Member of Congress and Senators: